Cynthia and Natalia

Posted on November 24, 2009. Filed under: Stories - from other sites |

Cynthia & Natalia (Colombia)

This is located at:
http://www.out4immigration.org/immigration/page.html?=&cid=1124

I met my partner in 2001 and began our relationship then. From the beginning we fell in love with each other.

The impact of not having the right to stay together here in the U.S. reverberates at every level of our lives. It puts our relationship under incredible stress everyday. Every day there is something that reminds us. She can’t get an ID or Social Security card so we can’t even go out for dinner and have a drink without her feeling bad because we are reminded when she has to use her passport.

Most importantly, I have to see the person I love suffocating because she can’t live, work, or even go to school freely and I am impotent to do anything about it.

The most incredible thing is that this happens in my own country, the United States!

I have to watch the person that I love suffer because she is with me and there is nothing I can do to help or ease this pain.

I live in fear that she will get tired or get sent back to a place that is not home anymore. We can’t plan because we never know what will happen in the future.

To see her overcome her difficulties gave me strength to pull myself together. At 31 years old, I went back to school for my M.A. degree and then continued for my Ph.D. to become a college professor.

We have refused to live a lie by having her marry someone else or attempt other avenues for getting her legal status.

If no options for her legal status are available, we will be forced to leave the country.

I am astonished that this “great” country can not do such a simple thing in order to retain such highly trained and committed Americans that have so much to contribute to this society — just because of who we love.

 This is located at:
http://www.out4immigration.org/

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Immigration Stories – A Collective Wisdom

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

