Randy and Partner

Posted on January 8, 2010. Filed under: Stories - from other sites |

Randy (U.S.) & Partner (Australia) 

http://www.out4immigration.org/immigration/page.html?s=immeqla&cid=1147

I am a U.S. Citizen, a Vietnam Veteran, a home owner, a Tax payer and a member in good standing in my community. I have served my country, paid my taxes, my family goes all the way back to the settlement at Jamestown Virginia, and yet I am not afforded the same rights as my neighbors because I am a man in love with another man.

Four years ago I met a young man from Australia. He was here on a Visitor’s Visa, he had run into some bad luck, he had been robbed, lied to, and had been beat down by the system. He needed a place to stay and I took him in to help him get back on his feet. We have been together ever since.

The only way I could keep him in this country legally was to enroll him in school. When I met my Aussie I was not in debt, now I owe $40,000 dollars! Because of his visa status he is not allowed to work and his tuition is elevated because he is an International Student.

Due to current immigration laws, I cannot sponsor him for a resident alien card, because as far as the U.S. Government is concerned we are total strangers.

I am an Electronics Field Technician, working for a company that services airport security equipment under a Government contract. I am finding it harder and harder to justify staying in this country under the current conditions. If we moved to Australia my partner could sponsor me. If we moved to Canada we could marry. If we stay in the U.S. I see no future for us.

Every day more and more people in our situation are leaving the U.S. The U.S. is losing talented people due to inequality of immigration laws. This is not an immigration issue, this is a civil rights issue.

If heterosexual Joe Blow down the street can walk across the border, marry a woman he has known for five minutes, bring her home and sponsor her for a Green Card, why shouldn’t I be allowed to sponsor someone I have spent the past four years building a life with, some­one that I am in love with, someone who brings me joy and peace, someone who has made me a better person?!

We are not asking for special rights. We are asking for equal rights.

This story can be found at Out 4 Immigration:
http://www.out4immigration.org/immigration/page.html?s=immeqla&cid=1147

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Immigration Stories – A Collective Wisdom

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

