Leslie and Partner

Posted on February 10, 2010. Filed under: Stories - from other sites |

Leslie (U.S.) & Partner (Sweden)
My fiance is from Sweden. He currently lives there and goes to school, but we visit each other for months at a time. His intention was to try to get into a university in the U.S. and obtain a visa that way, but it seemed stupid for him to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to go to university here when he can go to school for free in Sweden. I agree, we don’t want to rack up the debts.

Now it seems more prudent for me to just move to Sweden since they have the same rights for same-sex couples and allow immigration for gay spouses. The only problem is, I don’t speak Swedish.

I love it there though, and will try to learn the language. But getting a good job in my field without speaking the local language seems difficult. Instead I am applying to graduate schools in Sweden (since they are free, why not?). But if I do this and we marry there and I become a permanent resident in Sweden, what happens to my U.S. citizenship and my inalienable rights as an American? I don’t want to sever ties with America forever.

Every day without each other is so painful. We talk every day, and spend our lives on webcam. We ARE each others family. I have nothing without him. We are very young, but we want to begin our lives together, but its hard with all the obstacles.

My partner speaks fluent English, which is why it would be easier to live here in the U.S.
Hopefully we both can come back when things change in the U.S. This is why I support the UAFA.

This story is located at:
http://www.out4immigration.org/immigration/page.html?=&cid=1194

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Immigration Stories – A Collective Wisdom

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

